IJP Summer Lecture 2015Guest speaker: EU Vice-President Frans Timmermans

Summer Lecture 2015

Speaking about the duties of journalists at the first IJP Summer Lecture on July 14 in Berlin, "It is the prolonged presence in a country that makes it possible to present a differentiated and empathetic view of the political situation," said Frans Timmermans, the First Vice-President of the EU Commission.  
Still under the impression of the strenuous negotiations for a rescue package for Greece, Timmermans argued in favour of positive European stories to an audience of 90 guests ”The EU is not only Greece or Dublin, it is the most successful peace project that has emerged in the history of mankind."

The European integration also involved the creation of a common destiny so that we would no longer fear each other!
In a "design-thinking" workshop that took place before Timmermans speech, selected journalists and Europe projects participants from the Stiftung Mercator discussed how positive stories of Europe could be told. 
For a better understanding of Europe, the former Foreign Minister of the Netherlands had a reading tip for the 90 guests attending the event: "Read Joseph Roth and Erich Remarque!"
The IJP Summer Lecture is a new format for alumni of all IJP programmes and will be held every summer. 
This year the IJP Summer Lecture was sponsored by the Mercator Foundation and took place at the Mercator Center Berlin.

IJP Summer Lecture 2015Gast: EU Vizepräsident Frans Timmermans

Summer Lecture 2015

 „Nur durch die längere Präsenz in einem Land ist es möglich, auch die politische Lage genau differenziert und einfühlsam darzustellen“ – das sagte der Erste Vizepräsident der EU Komission Frans Timmermans  über die Aufgabe von Journalisten bei der ersten IJP Summer Lecture am 14. Juli in Berlin.
Noch unter dem Eindruck des gerade nächtelang verhandelten Rettungspakets für Griechenland plädierte Timmermans vor über 90 Gästen für positive europäische Geschichten: “Die EU ist nicht nur Griechenland oder Dublin, sie ist das erfolgreichste Friedensprojekt, dass die Menschheit in ihrer Geschichte hervorgebracht hat.“

Summer Lecture 2015
Summer Lecture 2015

Die europäische Integration bedeutete doch auch eine Schicksalsgemeinschaft zu schaffen, damit wir keine Angst mehr voreinander haben!
Wie  positive Geschichten von Europa erzählt werden kann, darüber hatten sich in einem „design-thinking“ - Workshop vor der Rede Timmermans ausgewählte Journalisten und Teilnehmer aus Europaprojekten der Stiftung Mercator ausgetauscht.
Für die mehr als 90 Gäste hatte der ehemalige niederländische Außenminister kurz vor auch noch einen Lesetipp zum besseren Verständnis von Europa: „Lesen Sie Joseph Roth und Erich Remarque!“
Die IJP Summer Lecture ist ein neues Format für Alumni aller IJP Programme und soll in Zukunft jeden Sommer stattfinden.
In diesem Jahr wurde die IJP Summer Lecture von der Stiftung Mercator gefördert und fand im Projektzentrum Berlin der Stiftung am Hackeschen Markt statt