The Middle East Fellowship

Programme Description

In 2016 IJP are offering for the thirteenth time a travel and work fellowship for up to five young journalists from the Middle East, especially from Egypt, Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Israel and Palestine to spend a two-month period in Germany. We are doing this in cooperation with governmental institutions, foundations and sponsors in Germany and the Middle East. At the same time, the fellowship is being offered to journalists in Germany, who can apply to spend a two-month period in the Middle East.

The two work fellowships each for journalists from Germany and Israel are named in honour of the journalist Ernst Cramer and the former mayor of Jerusalem Teddy Kollek and their exemplary dedication to the intensification of German-Israeli relations.

Fellows 2015
Fellows 2015

The fellowship is intended to enable young journalists to familiarise themselves with the political issues in Germany at an early stage of their career. This will raise awareness of aspects of relations between Germany and the Middle Eastern region in future multipliers and will give them a personal insight into mentality, culture and everyday life in Germany and the European Union.

The practical part of the fellowship ensures contact with colleagues in the region, and it is hoped this contact will be maintained in future years. This is also the intention of future alumni reunions in
Berlin.

Mode of Payment

The fellowship carries a single payment of 4,000 euro per person. This sum is intended to cover a large proportion of the travel costs, board and lodging. Fellows are expected to contribute a certain amount themselves. There will be no payment for the individual's work on location as a journalist.

Dates

The fellowship begins 30 October 2016 with an introductory event in Berlin together with the German fellows. This is followed by a fellowship lasting at least two months with a German media outlet.

The branch of the media (newspaper, radio, TV, magazine) will be selected by the fellows, and the actual place of work will then be decided by the organiser in consultation with the fellows. There will be the possibility to extend the stay on an individual basis.

Application

Applications, for which there is no special form, are to be submitted by June 17, 2016. The application must be accompanied by a passport photo, a detailed curriculum vitae, and a journalistic appraisal written by the head of department or editor-in-chief. The latter should support the application, guarantee temporary leave of absence for the duration of the fellowship, and serve as evidence of journalistic activity. Samples of work may be enclosed. A very good knowledge of English is expected. While a knowledge of German will naturally be welcomed, this is not an essential requirement for an application. Visa arrangements will be made with the help of the organizers.

After preliminary selection, the finalists might be invited for a selection interview. Legal action in respect of the final decision shall be barred. Notification will be sent to the successful candidates by end of August 2016.

All fellows undertake to write, upon their return, a report of at least three pages on their experience, activities and impressions in the country.

Deutsch-Nahost JournalistenstipendiumThe Middle East Fellowship

Programmbeschreibung

Zum dreizehnten Mal schreiben die IJP 2016 ein zweimonatiges Reise- und Arbeitsstipendium für fünf jüngere Journalisten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Nahen Osten für Ägypten, Jordanien, Libanon, Palästinensische Gebiete, Syrien und Israel aus. Dies geschieht in Zusammenarbeit mit staatlichen Einrichtungen, Stiftungen und Sponsoren in Deutschland und dem Nahen Osten. Zeitgleich wird dieses Stipendium für Journalisten der Region ausgeschrieben, die sich für einen zweimonatigen Aufenthalt in Deutschland bewerben können.

Die beiden Arbeitsstipendien in und aus Israel sind zu Ehren des Journalisten Ernst Cramer und des Jerusalemer Altbürgermeisters Teddy Kollek benannt, deren Einsatz für eine Intensivierung der deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen Vorbild ist.

Jahrgang 2015
Jahrgang 2015

Das Stipendium beginnt am 30. Oktober 2016 mit einer Einführungsveranstaltung in Berlin gemeinsam mit den arabischen und israelischen Stipendiaten. Darauf folgt ein mindestens zweimonatiges Fellowship bei hebräisch-, arabisch- oder englischsprachigen Medien in der Region. Der Medienzweig (Zeitung, Hörfunk, TV, Zeitschriften) und das Einsatzland werden vom Stipendiaten ausgewählt, die konkrete Arbeitsstätte dann vom Veranstalter in Absprache mit dem Stipendiaten festgelegt. Es besteht die Möglichkeit der individuellen Verlängerung. Mit Hilfe dieses Stipendiums sollen sich jüngere Journalisten mit den politischen Themen des Nahen Ostens frühzeitig vertraut machen. Auf diese Weise werden zukünftige Multiplikatoren für Fragen der deutsch-arabischen wie deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen sensibilisiert und erhalten einen persönlichen Einblick von Mentalität, Kultur und Alltagsleben in der Region des Nahen Ostens.

Der praktische Teil des Stipendiums sichert den Kontakt mit Kollegen aus der Region, der für zukünftige Jahre aufrecht erhalten werden soll. Diesem Zweck dient auch die zukünftige Alumni-Vereinigung ehemaliger Stipendiaten und ein jährliches Alumni-Treffen in Berlin.

Stipendienzahlung

Das Stipendium ist mit einer einmaligen Zahlung von 4.000 Euro pro Person verbunden. Der Betrag soll Reisekosten, Verpflegung und Unterkunft zum größten Teil abdecken. Ein gewisser Eigenbeitrag der Stipendiaten wird erwartet. Eine Vergütung der journalistischen Tätigkeit vor Ort erfolgt nicht.

Bewerbung

Die Bewerber sollten das einundzwanzigste Lebensjahr abgeschlossen haben und als regelmäßige Mitarbeiter, Volontäre oder Redakteure in deutschen Medien tätig sein. Das Höchstalter beträgt siebenunddreißig Jahre.

Formlose Bewerbungen sind bis zum 17. Juni 2016 einzureichen. Der Bewerbung sind beizufügen: ein Passbild, ein ausführlicher Lebenslauf sowie ein journalistisches Gutachten, ausgestellt vom Ressortleiter oder Chefredakteur. Es soll zugleich die Bewerbung unterstützen, die Beurlaubung für die Zeit des Stipendiums sicherstellen und als journalistischer Tätigkeitsnachweis dienen. Arbeitsproben können beigefügt werden. Sehr gute Englisch-Kenntnisse werden vorausgesetzt, Hebräisch- bzw. Arabisch-Kenntnisse sind begrüßenswert, aber nicht Voraussetzung für eine Bewerbung.

Nach einer Vorauswahl werden die Finalisten zu einem Auswahlgespräch eingeladen. Die Endauswahl erfolgt unter Ausschluss des Rechtsweges. Die Zulassungsmitteilungen werden bis Ende August 2016 versandt.

Alle Stipendiaten verpflichten sich, nach Rückkehr einen mindestens dreiseitigen Erfahrungsbericht über ihre Tätigkeit und Eindrücke vor Ort zu erstellen.