ComLab#5: The New Global - Cooperation for the Future

Without sharing ideas, goods and common human values around the world, our lives would be much poorer and even endangered. The global movement of people, raw materials and innovations changed our lives for the better and continues to do so. Yet, the pandemic, politicial upheaval, and resource dependency pose new challenges to the idea of a collaborative international community. 

Cross-border phenomena like (climate) migration and COVID-19 are causing us to rethink established notions of mobility, international trade and work, and the way we treat the environment. They are reminding us that resources are finite, and the global community is vulnerable, raising the question as to what the future of globalisation and exchange will look like. What lessons can be learned from past and current crises? How can goods and ideas be shared globally in a sustainable, fair and more secure way? What opportunities are inherent in digital infrastructure and services? How should we envision human mobility and migration? How can we respond to increasing political isolatioinism and nationalist ideologies? 

Science and the media can point the way to innovative approaches and best practices for our future global community. During four workshop days in May 2022, the participating journalists and scientists of our fifth Communication Lab explored the future of global exchange in all its political, social, economic and ecological dimensions. The results of this collaboration will be published later this year.

ComLab#5 - Prize Winners

On September 2, 2022 the projects of the fifth Communication Lab were honoured at a virtual award ceremony.

The external jury, comprising Ulrike Winkelmann (editor-in-chief, taz), Alok Jha (science correspondent, The Economist) and Jens Radü (managing editor, DER SPIEGEL) as well as Georg Scholl (head of the Humboldt Foundation's Press, Communications and Marketing Division) selected the top four project ideas. The jury was impressed by their originality of topics, the appealing way in which facts and storytelling was interwoven as well as the appropriateness in their approach to address their chosen target audience. 

The prizes for the four most successful pieces go to: 

  • the journalist Carl Smith (Australian Broadcasting Corporation) and the data specialist Mirela Tulbure (Center for Geospatial Analytics, North Carolina State University) for their audio documentary "Meet the communities using their own backyards to try to tame the next big flood" about grassroot communities that have teamed up with scientists to prevent disastrous flooding.
  • the journalist Amie Liebovitz (BBC) and the sociologist Elisabeth Gruber (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) for a story pitch about a municipality in Austria that is breaking new ground in helping refugees and integrating them as workforce in the tourism sector.
  • the journalist Martina Weber and the sustainability researcher Veeresh Anehosur (Nunam) for their radio play "The E-E-Room (The Energy-Emergency-Room)" about the global dimensions of second-life use of lithium batteries.
  • a special award goes to the journalist Trisha Dantiani (CNN Indonesia) and the media scientist Mengdi Tao (Tsinghua University, Beijing) for their project "Refugee Reels" that examines the experience of young refugees in Indonesia through Instagram. 

The journalist Lisbeth Schröder and the sociologist Amadeo Gandolfo received an honorary mention for their project "Drawing for health - how making a comic can help to cope wtih mental problems" - a fanzine combining testimonies by people affected, scientific facts and comics on the topic of mental health problems.

ComLab#5: The New Global - Kooperationen für die Zukunft

Ohne den weltweiten Austausch von Ideen, Gütern und gemeinsamen menschlichen Werten wäre unser Leben viel ärmer und sogar gefährdet. Die globale Bewegungen von Menschen, Rohstoffen und Innovationen hat unser Leben zum Besseren verändert und tut dies auch weiterhin. Pandemien, politische Umwälzungen und die Abhängigkeit von Ressourcen stellen jedoch neue Herausforderungen an die Idee einer kooperativen internationalen Gemeinschaft dar. 

Grenzüberschreitende Phänomene wie die Klimamigration und COVID-19 lassen uns etablierte Handels- und Kommunikationswege, Arbeitsweisen und unseren Umgang mit der Umwelt überdenken. Sie erinnern uns an die Endlichkeit der Ressourcen und die Verletzlichkeit der globalen Gemeinschaft und werfen die Frage auf, wie die Zukunft der Globalisierung aussehen wird. Welche Lehren lassen sich aus den Krisen der Gegenwart ziehen? Wie kann ein nachhaltiger, fairer und sicherer globaler Austausch von Waren und Ideen gelingen? Müssen wir menschliche Mobilität und Migration neu denken? WIe begegnen wir der zunehmenden politischen Abschottung und nationalem Inseldenken? Welche Lösungen liegen in digitalen nomadischen Bewegungen und den neuen virtuellen Möglichkeiten?

Wissenschaft und Medien können uns innovative Ansätze und Best Practices für die Gestaltung unserer zukünftigen globalen Gemeinschaft aufzeigen. Die teilnehmenden Journalist:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen des fünften Communication Lab haben gemeinsam an vier Workshoptagen im Mai 2022 die Zukunft des globalen Austauschs in seinen politischen, sozialen, wirtschatlichen und ökologischen Dimensionen erkundet. Die Ergebnisse dieser Zusammenarbeit werden im Spätsommer 2022 veröffentlicht.

ComLab#5 - Prämierte Beiträge

Die besten Projekte aus dem fünften Communication Lab wurden am 2. September 2022 im Rahmen einer virtuellen Siegerehrung ausgezeichnet. 

Die externe Jury, Ulrike WInkelmann (Chefredakteurin, taz), Alok Jha (Wissenschaftskorrespondent, The Economist und Jens Radü (Chef vom Dienst, DER SPIEGEL) sowie Georg Scholl (Leiter des Referats Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing der Humboldt-Stiftung), wählte deie besten vier Projektideen aus. Die Arbeiten überzeugten die Jury durch Originalität des Themas, die ansprechende Verflechtung von wissenschaftlichen Fakten und Storytelling und die stimmige Ansprache der anvisierten Zielgruppe. 

Die Geldpreise für die gelungensten vier Beiträge erhalten: 

  • Der Journalist Carl Smith (Australian Broadcasting Corporation, ABC) und die Daten-Spezialistin Mirela Tulbure (Center for Geospatial Analytics, North Carolina State University) für ihre Audio-Dokumentation "Meet the communities using their own backyards to try to tame the next big flood" über Grassroot-Gemeinschaften, die sich mit Wissenschaftler:innen zusammengetan haben, um Flutkatastrophen zu verhindern.
  • Die Journalistin Amie Liebovitz (BBC) und die Soziologin Elisabeth Gruber (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg) für einen Story-Pitch, in dessen Mittelpunkt eine Gemeinde in Österreich steht, die bei der Betreuung von Flüchtlingen und deren Integration in den Tourismussektor neue Wege geht.
  • Die Journalistin Martina Weber (Freelance) und der Nachhaltigkeitsforscher Veeresh Anehosur (Nunam) für ihr Hörspiel "The E-E-Room (The Energy-Emergency-Room)" über globale Dimensionen einer Second Life Anwendung von Lithium-Batterien. 
  • Der Sonderpreis geht an die Journalistin Trisha Dantiani (CNN Indonesia) und die Medienwissenschaftlerin Mengdi Tao (Tsinghua University, Beijin) für ihr Projekt "Refugee Reels", das den Erfahrungsaustausch junger Geflüchteter in Indonesien über Instagram beleuchtet.

Eine besondere Erwähnung ging an die Journalistin Lisbeth Schröder und den Soziolgen Amadeo Gandolfo für ihr Projekt "Drawing for health - how making a comic van help cope with mental problems" - ein Fanzine, das Erfahrungsberichte von Betroffenen, wissenschaftliche Fakten und Comics zum Thema psychische Probleme verbindet.