ComLab#7: The Next Big Bang – New Frontiers in Exploring Life

New Frontiers in Exploring Life: Digital Communication Lab for Exchange between Research and Communication on 11 – 13 May, 2023

The Science Year 2022 has brought us groundbreaking news – from new AI-based approaches in pharmaceutical production to spectacular insights into distant galaxies delivered by the James Webb Telescope. Science has always pushed the boundaries of life, but how will new technologies shape our understanding of humans and their habitats in the future?

With new space missions and fast developments in bioengineering, ComLab#7 aims to explore the research that will fuel our expectations in 2023. What are the new frontiers in research and how can or should scientists and journalists tell the story of the next big bang that is already fundamentally happening but has not yet arrived in everyday reality? At the same time: How much news value should we ascribe to risky or early research? Can too much attention at an early stage harm further developments, especially in terms of public acceptance? In addition, there are ethical and social issues to consider, especially when dealing with disruptive research and technologies. 

With the seventh ComLab, we want to shed light on the terrain for the next scientific revelation and find ways to communicate those, whilst also considering underlying cultural norms that affect how new research is implemented and perceived in different countries. 

Key questions:

  • What are the next big trends and topics in science in 2023?
  • How can cutting-edge research be communicated in a clear and comprehensive way?
  • What might be the social and ethical implications of new frontiers in research – from the exploration of space to progress in the field of bioengineering or AI-based innovation?
  • How do different cultural perspectives and religion influence our understanding of groundbreaking discoveries?
  • To what extent is the visibility of new research determined by inequality of opportunity – especially with regard to the differences between the Global North and the Global South?

ComLab#7: Der nächste Urknall – neue Grenzen in der Erforschung des Lebens

Neue Grenzen in der Erforschung des Lebens: Digital Communication Lab for Exchange between Research and Communication am 11. – 13. Mai 2023

Das Wissenschaftsjahr 2022 hat uns bahnbrechende Neuigkeiten beschert – von neuen KI-basierten Ansätzen in der Arzneimittelproduktion bis hin zu spektakulären Einblicken in ferne Galaxien. Die Wissenschaft hat schon immer die Grenzen des Lebens ausgelotet, doch wie werden neue Technologien unser Verständnis des Menschen und seiner Lebensräume in Zukunft prägen?

Was erwartet die Wissenschaft im Jahr 2023? Mit neuen Weltraummissionen, zukunftsweisenden KI-Anwendungen und Entwicklungen in der Biotechnik: Wie können oder sollten Wissenschaftler:innen und Journalist:innen über den nächsten "Urknall" berichten, der in seinen Grundfesten bereits da, aber noch nicht in der alltäglichen Realität angekommen ist? Wie viel Nachrichtenwert sollten wir riskanter oder noch am Anfang stehender Forschung zuschreiben? Kann eine zu große Aufmerksamkeit in einem frühen Stadium der weiteren Entwicklung schaden, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die öffentliche Akezeptanz? Hinzu kommen ethische und soziale Fragen, die sich besonders bei disruptiven Ansätzen in Forschung und Technik stellen. 

Mit dem siebten ComLab wollen wir das Terrain der nächsten großen wissenschaftlichen Entdeckungen ausleuchten und Wege finden, wie diese kommuniziert werden können. Zugleich wollen wir die zugrunde liegenden kulturellen Normen bei der Anwendung und Wahrnehmung neuer Forschung in verschiedenen Ländern diskutieren.

Schlüsselfragen: 

  • Was dind die wissenschaftlichen Trends und Themen im Jahr 2023?
  • Wie kann man Spitzenforschung klar und verständlich kommunizieren?
  • Welche sozialen und ethischen Auswirkungen können neue Grenzen in der Forschung haben – von der Erforschung des Weltraums bis hin zu Fortschritten im Bereich des Bioengineering oder der Künstlichen Intelligenz?
  • Wie prägen und beeinflussen verschiedene kulturelle Perspektiven und die Religion unser Verständnis und unsere Wahrnehmung bahnbrechender Entdeckungen?
  • Inwieweit wird die Sichtbarkeit neuer Forschungsergebnisse durch Chancen(un)gleichheit bestimmt – insbesondere mit Blick auf die Unterschiede zwischen dem globalen Norden und dem globalen Süden?