The American Board of Trustees


Patrons (2016 - 2019)

The Honorable Emily Haber, German Ambassador to the United States of America

The Honorable Sabine Sparwasser, German Ambassador to Canada


Trustees (2016 - 2019)

Donald Baer, Worldwide Chair & CEO, burson-Marsteller

Joyce Barnathan, President, International Center for Journalists (ICFJ)

Ambassador (ret.) J.D. Bindenagel

Rebecca Blumenstein, Deputy Managing Editor, The New York Times

Marcus W. Brauchli, Co-founder and Managing Partner, North Base Media; Consultant, Graham Holdings company (Chairman)

Elisabeth Bumiller, Washington Bureau Chief, The New York Times

Ambassador (ret.) Richard Burt, Senior Advisor, McLarty Associates (Honorary Chairman)

Dr. Martin Bussmann, Managing Director, Mannheim Holdings LLC

Nikhil Deogun, Managing Editor, CNBC

Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling, Director, Internationale Journalisten Programme e.V. (President)

Professor Dr. Ronald Frohne, President and CEO, GWFF USA, Inc.

Marie Gervais-Vidricaire Former Canadian Ambassador to Germany 

Jacob Heilbrunn, Editor, the National Interest

James F. Hoge, Jr., Senior Advisor, Teneo Intelligence (Honorary Chairman)

Martina Hund-Mejean, Chief Financial Officer, MasterCard, Inc.

Mitra Kalita, Vice President Programming, CNN Digital

David Kamenetzky, Chief Strategy & External Affairs Officer and Member of Executive Management Board, Anheuser-Busch InBev 

The Honorable Henry A. Kissinger, Chairman, Kissinger Associates, Former U.S. Secretary of State

Bernhard Kuhnt, President and CEO, BMW of North America, LLC

Christian Lange, President and CEO, EII Capital Management Inc.

The Honorable Frank E. Loy, Former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs (Honorary Chairman)

The Honorable Richard G. Lugar, President, The Lugar Center, Former United States Senator

Davon Maharaj, Former Editor-in-Chief and Publisher, Los Angeles Times 

Kati Marton, Journalist and Author

Jennifer McGuire, General Manager and Editor-in-Chief, CBC News and Centres 

Matt Murray, Editor in Chief, The Wall Street Journal

Gen. David H. Petraeus, Member, KKR & Chairman, KKR Global Institute

John F. W. Rogers, Executive Vice President, Goldman Sachs

The Honorable Hugh D. Segal, Master, Massey College, Former Canadian Senator

Calvin Sims, President and CEO, International House

Dr. Nina Smidt, President, American Friends of Bucerius, Director International Strategic Planning and Business Development, ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin und Gerd Bucerius

Wayne T. Smith, Chairman of the Board and CEO, BASF Corporation

Robert Steiner, Director Fellowships in Global Journalism, Munk School of Global Affairs, University of Toronto

Kara Swisher, Co-CEO, Revere Digital, Co-Executive Editor, RE/code; and Co-Executive Producer, The Code Conference

David Walmsley, Editor-in-Chief, The Globe and Mail

Stanford S. Warshawsky, Chairman, Bismarck Capital, LLC (Vice Chairman)

Legal Advisor: Phillip C. Zane, Adjunct Faculty, Dept. of Health Administration and Policy, George Mason University


The American Board of Trustees (2016-2019)

The American Board of Trustees (2016-2019)
The American Board of Trustees (2016-2019)