Members of the Board of Directors

Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling (born 1963), Frankfurt
Arthur F. Burns Fellowship
Middle East Fellowship
Ernst Cramer & Teddy Kollek Fellowship

Legal studies. Dr jur. Freelance journalist, especially for the FAZ and for various weekly publications. 1993-1997 working as a magazine publisher. 1997 joined the German broadcaster ZDF. Since 2000 head of International Affairs ZDF. Member of the supervisory committees of the European Broadcasting Union and of Arte. Book publications about Germany, the United Nations and France.

Dr. Janko Jochimsen (born 1964), Berlin
Chair of Finances

Law studies in Berlin, PhD in law, lawyer. Then different positions at the Technische Universität Berlin. Finally head of the presidential office. Founding member of the m2-consulting consulting company. Now at urios Beratungsgesellschaft.

Martina Johns (born 1962), Berlin
The Asia Fellowship
The German-Polish Bursary

Study of sinology in Hamburg, China and Bonn. 1986 trainee at NDR, afterwards TV reporter for ARD in Asia and regional programmes. 1993 political editor at ZDF. 1995 - 2000 Head of the department of International Relations, now freelance journalist. Various book publications about China's economy.

Anke Plättner (born 1963), Berlin
The Dutch Bursary

Friedensdienst Aktion Sühnezeichen (Action Reconciliation Service For Peace), Amsterdam. School voor de Journalistik, Utrecht. Trainee at Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Köln. Afterwards, editor, senior editor, host of various TV programmes and documentaries. 1999 - 2009 correspondent at the Berlin office of TV-news channel Phoenix. 2010 - 2013 WDR correspondent in Berlin. Now freelancer and TV anchor for ARD. Alumna Arthur Burns Fellowship (1993).

Miodrac Soric (born 1960), Düsseldorf
The German-Eastern European Journalists' Bursary

The German-Turkish Bursary


Bureau Chief Deutsche Welle Washington D.C.. 2006-2009 editor-in-chief at Deutsche Welle radio. Starting 1999 editor-in-chief of foreign language programmes at Deutsche Welle and head of the Eastern Europe department at DW. 1995-1999 head of the Russian department. 1991 "Kurt-Magnus' award of ARD. Study of Slaviv, political science and German philology in Cologne, Moscow, Kiev and Munich. Member of the board of curators of the Michael Zikic Foundation, chairman of the Orthodox Church Parishioners in Bonn, Former member of the board of Reporters without Borders.

Martin Spiewak (born 1964), Hamburg
The German-Latin American Fellowship

Study of history and Spanish in Hamburg and Madrid. "Deutsche Journalistenschule" in Munic. Editor for four years at "Deutsches Allgemeine Sonntagsblatt" in Hamburg. 1997 - 1999 freelance journalist (reports, analyses and features). Since July 1999 editor at the weekly newspaper "Die Zeit" at the department 'WISSEN' (education, medical ethics). Since 2004 member of in the Berlin office of the weekly. Several awards for in-depth reporting.

Vassilios Theodossiou (born 1971), Berlin
The German-Northern European Journalists' Bursary
The George Weidenfeld Bursary

Study of Law, Political Economy and Philosophy in Göttingen, London, Bonn and Speyer. Doctoral candidate at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. Works as lawyer.

Marco Vollmar (born 1970), Cologne
The Southern African Bursary

Study of political science, history and economics in Bonn and Paris. Traineeship at Deutsche Welle (DW), business editor at Deutsche Welle TV and correspondent at the capital department of MDR in Berlin. 2006- 2011 Deutsche Welle Radio, now WWF Board member. Since 2005 programme manager of the South African Programme.

Vorstand der IJP

Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling (Jahrgang 1963)
Deutsch-Amerikanisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Nahost Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Israelisches Journalistenstipendium

Studium der Rechtswissenschaft, Dr. iur.. Regelmäßige freie Mitarbeit, vor allem für die FAZ und verschiedene Wochenzeitungen. 1993-1997 Mitarbeit als Assistent und Verlagsleiter bei Gruner + Jahr. Seit 1997 beim ZDF. Seit 2000 Leiter Internationale Angelegenheiten/ZDF. Mitglied der Aufsichtsgremien der European Broadcasting Union und von Arte. Buchveröffentlichungen über Deutschland, die UN und Frankreich.

 

Martina Johns (Jahrgang 1962)
Deutsch-Asiatisches Journalistenstipendium
Asia Talks
Science Communication Lab

Studium der Sinologie in Hamburg, China und Bonn. 1986 Volontariat beim NDR, anschließend TV-Reporterin für die ARD in Asien und Regionalprogramme. 1993 Wechsel zum ZDF, zunächst als Politikredakteurin; im Herbst 1995 Berufung als Leiterin der Abteilung Auslandsbeziehungen. Seit 2003 freie Journalistin. Diverse Buchveröffentlichungen zu Wirtschaftsthemen der Volksrepublik China. Alumna des Arthur F. Burns Fellowship (1993).

 

Benedikt Karmann (Jahrgang 1984)
Finanzvorstand

Diplom-Volkswirt der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin mit Auslandsstudien an der Universität Siena und Universität Habana. Master of Science in London (LSE). Tätigkeit als Mitarbeiter in Forschungsinstitutionen der Gesundheitswirtschaft. Seitdem Unternehmensberater in einem international tätigen Wirtschaftsprüfungs- und Beratungsunternehmen. 

 

Anke Plättner (Jahrgang 1963)
Deutsch-Niederländisches Journalistenstipendium
Wir sind Europa

Friedensdienst Aktion Sühnezeichen, Amsterdam. School voor de Journalistik, Utrecht. Volontariat Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Köln. Anschließend Redakteurin, Chefin vom Dienst, Moderatorin aktueller TV-Programme sowie von Features und Dokumentationen. 1999-2009 Berlin Korrespondentin des Fernsehsenders Phoenix. 2010-2012 WDR-Korrespondentin in Berlin. Seit 2013 freie Journalistin und Moderatorin. Alumna Arthur F. Burns Fellowship (1993).

 

Miodrag Soric (Jahrgang 1960)
Deutsch-Osteuropäisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Polnisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Südosteuropäisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Türkisches Journalistenstipendium

Chefkorrespondent der Deutschen Welle (DW) in Bonn. Zuvor leitender Korrespondent der Deutschen Welle Studio Moskau (2017-2019). Studioleiter der Deutschen Welle Washington D.C. (2009-2017). 2001-2009 Chefredakteur bei der Deutschen Welle Radio und Online. 1999-2001 Leiter der Osteuropa-Redaktion der DW. 1995-1999 Leiter des Russischen Programms. 1991 Kurt-Magnus-Preis der ARD. Studium der Slawistik, Politikwissenschaft und Germanistik in Köln, Moskau, Kiew und München. Ehemaliges Vorstandsmitglied von Reporter ohne Grenzen.

 

Martin Spiewak (Jahrgang 1964)
Deutsch-Lateinamerikanisches Journalistenstipendium

Geschichts- und Spanischstudium in Hamburg und Madrid, Deutsche Journalistenschule in München, vier Jahre Redakteur beim Deutschen Allgemeinen Sonntagsblatt in Hamburg, 1997-1999 freier Journalist (Reportagen, Analysen und Features), seit 1999 Redakteur der Wochenzeitung Die ZEIT im Ressort Wissen (Themen u.a. Erziehung, Bildung, Wissenschaft), seit 2004 mit Sitz im Hauptstadt-Büro.

 

Vassilios Theodossiou (Jahrgang 1971)
Deutsch-Nordeuropäisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Britisches Journalistenstipendium
Deutsch-Mittelosteuropäisches Journalistenstipendium

Studium der Rechtswissenschaften, der Volkswirtschaftslehre und der Philosophie in Göttingen, London (LSE), Bonn und Speyer. Tätigkeit als Rechtsanwalt.

 

Marco Vollmar (Jahrgang 1970)
Deutsch-Südliches Afrika Journalistenstipendium

Studium der Politischen Wissenschaften, Geschichte und Volkswirtschaftslehre in Bonn und Paris. Volontariat bei der Deutschen Welle, Wirtschaftsredakteur bei Deutsche Welle TV und Redakteur im Hauptstadtstudio des MDR, ab 2006 Leiter Deutsch-Englisches Hörfunkprogramm Deutsche Welle. Seit 2011 Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung WWF Deutschland.