2015 Ernst Cramer & Teddy Kollek Reporting Award

2015 will see the celebration of the 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations between Israel and Germany. IJP´s Ernst Cramer & Teddy Kollek Fellowship is therefore announcing the establishment of an award honoring journalistic reporting on the partner.

Entries can be all articles in journalistic long format (reportages), not under 1,000 words or approximately 6,000 characters, published between January 1, 2012 and December 31, 2014 in a print or online publication in Germany or Israel. The articles should focus on any element concerning the German‐Israeli relationship or any aspect, such as politics, society, culture or economics, of the partner country.

The entries will be judged by a jury both in Israel and Germany, consisting of senior editors and Cramer alums. One journalist from each country will receive an award of 5,000 Euro, which should be used for the implementation of a media project in the partner country at a later point. A selection of entries short‐listed on both sides will also be published in a compilation at a later point.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony, attended by senior leaders from both countries, during the anniversary events of 2015.

The juries consist of the following members


  • Ofer Aderet, correspondent Berlin, Haaretz (Cramer alum)
  • Mike Dagan, editor weekend magazine, Haaretz
  • Adar Primor, Senior editor, I24 News (coordinator)
  • Amit Segal, Parliamentary Correspondent, Channel 2 (Cramer alum)
  • Sarah Stricker, journalist and writer (Cramer alum)
  • Ben‐Dror Yemini, editor, Yehodiot Ahronoth


  • Ofer Aderet, correspondent Berlin, Haaretz (Cramer alum)
  • Frank‐Dieter Freiling, International Affairs, ZDF
  • Iris Mayer, head of news, dpa (Cramer alum)
  • Jan‐Eric Peters, editor‐in‐chief, Welt‐Gruppe
  • Ines Pohl, editor‐in‐chief, taz‐Die Tageszeitung
  • Sarah Stricker, journalist and writer (coordinator, Cramer alum)

Entries should be sent by email in Israel to Ernst Cramer Awards, c/o. Adar Primor (cramer.award.il@gmail.com) and in Germany to Ernst Cramer Awards, c/o. Sarah Stricker (cramer.award.de@gmail.com). The entries should include detailed information, where and when the piece was published.

Application deadline is January 15, 2015. The results will be announced by March 2015, the Award Ceremony will take place later in 2015.